When can minors make their own medical decisions?

When can minors make their own medical decisions?

“A minor who is 12 years of age or older may consent to medical care and counseling relating to the diagnosis and treatment of a drug or alcohol related problem.” (Cal. Family Code §6929(b)).

Is a pregnant minor considered emancipated in New York?

The child does not need a parent’s permission if the child is pregnant, a parent, or married. The child will need permission from a parent and from the court to get married if under age 18. Being emancipated does not change this requirement.

How long are your parents financially responsible for you in New York?

21 years old
Under New York State law, parents are responsible for supporting their child until the child is 21 years old.

What is the age of medical consent in the US?

By Nicholas Spangler & Zachary Winkelmann. The law for most US states require that individuals under the age of 18 must provide parental consent for medical services.

Can a 17 year old move out without parental consent in NY?

18 is the legal age of majority in New York. You cannot move out at 17 without being emancipated. 17 is the legal age of sexual consent.

Does having a baby make you emancipated?

Having a baby does not mean you are automatically emancipated. Any teen under 18 who has a baby must still legally live with her parents or guardian. Also, if you need cash aid, the law says you must live with a parent or relative, or in an adult-supervised program such as a group home.

Can I kick my 18 year old out of the house in NY?

You can kick the kid out. If they try to get support from you, you shall need to show that the child refused to adhere to adult supervision and refused to abide by your rules…

Can child support be waived in New York?

Yes. You both can waive the basic child support obligations as long as the waiver is in writing, states what the basic child support obligation would have been, and states the reasons why your agreement should be adopted instead.

Can a child be responsible for a parent’s medical bills?

Yes, there are incidents where a child was liable for his parent’s medical costs. Though rare, a child may be liable when all of the following criteria are met: The state has a filial responsibility law. The parent does not qualify for Medicare.

What is the Parental Responsibility Law in New York?

The Basics of New York’s Parental Responsibility Law. New York’s Parental Responsibility Law can be found at N.Y. General Obligations Law 3-112. Under this statute, parents and legal guardians are only responsible for the actions of their minor children.

How old do you have to be to be responsible for a minor in New York?

So keep in mind that this law only applies if a minor child is over 10, and less than 18, years old. Under N.Y. General Obligations Law 3-112, parents and legal guardians who have custody of a minor child can be held responsible for the actions of that child.

When does a parent not have to pay child support?

Rather, it is the fact that the child cannot support himself independently due to an existing disability that imposes the legal obligation on a parent to ensure support is available. If a child with a disability has sufficient income or resources to support himself, a court typically will not require a parent to pay child support to the child.

Do you have to pay your parent’s medical bills?

Both are legally obligated to pay the debt. However, if a parent pays these bills for which he or she was not obligated under the settlement, he or she should collect from the other parent, even if it means going to divorce court to do so.”

Who is responsible for a child’s medical bills?

The parents probably signed an express written contract when they took their child in for treatment, while the child perhaps could be held responsible under an “implied contract theory — in other words when you ask a physician to perform services there is a reasonable expectation that you will need to pay for those services.

What are the rights of parents of a minor who is pregnant?

She is NOT legally emancipated and her parents still have 100% control over everything in her life except her medical care. She is still a minor and she needs to remember that. Parental rights such as custody of the minor, obligation of support and so forth remain the same as if the minor child were not pregnant.

How old do you have to be to get medical care in New York?

Any person who is eighteen years of age or older, or is the parent of a child or has married, may give effective consent for medical, dental, health and hospital services for himself or herself, and the consent of no other person shall be necessary. 2.