What is the posterior area of the patella called?

What is the posterior area of the patella called?

Lateral articular facet
Lateral articular facet (facies articularis lateralis) is the larger of two shallow depressions on the posterior surface of the patella, which articulates with the lateral condyle of femur.

Where is the posterior side of the knee?

Posterior knee pain refers to pain located behind your kneecap (popliteal).

What is the back of the patella called?

Patella Posterior (Back) Surface: As the name suggests, part of the patellar ligament attaches to this rough surface. Facet for Lateral Condyle of Femur – Above this rough surface, you’ll notice the two smoother facets, which allow for articulation with the femur bone.

What side of the body is the patella on?

The patella is also known as the kneecap. It sits in front of the knee joint and protects the joint from damage. It is the largest sesamoid bone in the body, and lies within the quadriceps tendon….Patella.

Type Sesamoid bone
Parts Apex (pointing inferiorly), medial and lateral borders, base (lies proximally)

What causes pain in posterior knee?

There is a large variety of potential causes of posterior knee pain. These include soft-tissue injuries, tendon injuries, vascular, and neurologic causes. Injuries to the soft-tissues and tendons are more common while neurologic and vascular injuries occur less frequently [18].

What’s the part behind your knee called?

popliteal fossa
The popliteal fossa (sometimes referred to as the back knee, hough, or kneepit in analogy to the cubital fossa) is a shallow depression located at the back of the knee joint. The bones of the popliteal fossa are the femur and the tibia.

Is patella alta a deformity?

Patella Alta is what is known as an idiopathic condition, meaning that the cause of high riding patella is typically unknown. The possible causes are: Congenital Defect: In most cases, patella alta is present from birth and likely occurred during embryonic development.

What is the posterior view of the patella?

When we look at the posterior (or back) view of the patella bone, we see that it has two large, smooth facets for the upper portion, as well as a rough surface toward the inferior portion.

Where is the patella bone located in the femur?

It is locatedlocated directly anterior to a groove between the femur condyles called the patellar surface. Two facets (or depressions) on the posterior side of the patella articulate with the medial and lateral femur condyles.

Which is the larger facet of the patella?

Markings of the Patella Bone: Lateral articular facet ( facies articularis lateralis) is the larger of two shallow depressions on the posterior surface of the patella, which articulates with the lateral condyle of femur.

What is inferior to the patella?

Apex (apex patellae) is the pointed inferior margin of patella. This region serves as an attachment point for the patellar ligament, which is an inferior extension of the quadriceps tendon.

The patella is a sesamoid bone roughly triangular in shape, with the apex of the patella facing downwards. The apex is the most inferior (lowest) part of the patella. It is pointed in shape, and gives attachment to the patellar ligament.

What is the superior pole of the patella?

The superior pole of the patella serves as the site for the insertion of the quadriceps tendon, which is the confluence of the four individual quadriceps muscle tendons ( rectus femoris , vastus medialis , vastus intermedius , and vastus lateralis ). The quadriceps tendon envelopes the patella and becomes the patella tendon distally,…

What is the patella anatomy?

Anatomical terms of bone. [edit on Wikidata] The patella, also known as the kneecap, is a flat, circular-triangular bone which articulates with the femur (thigh bone) and covers and protects the anterior articular surface of the knee joint.

Is the patellar part of the quadricep?

The quadriceps tendon (quad tendon) is the large tendon just above your kneecap. The quad tendon is part of the extensor mechanism of the knee that includes the quadriceps muscle, the quad tendon, the kneecap (patella) and the patellar tendon .