What are the two layers of the dermis quizlet?

What are the two layers of the dermis quizlet?

Papillary and Reticular: Two Layers of the Dermis.

What is the function of the papillary layer?

The papillary layer supplies nutrients to select layers of the epidermis and regulates temperature. Both of these functions are accomplished with a thin, extensive vascular system that operates similarly to other vascular systems in the body.

What are the major layers of the dermis?

The dermis connects the epidermis to the hypodermis, and provides strength and elasticity due to the presence of collagen and elastin fibers. It has only two layers: the papillary layer with papillae that extend into the epidermis and the lower, reticular layer composed of loose connective tissue.

What are the two main zones of the dermis?

The dermis has two main zones, the papillary dermis and the reticular dermis. The subcutaneous fat is an important layer and plays a role in shock absorption, energy storage, and maintenance of body heat.

How many layers make up the dermis quizlet?

2 layers of Dermis Flashcards | Quizlet.

What is the fatty tissue located below the dermis?

The hypodermis (also called the subcutaneous layer or superficial fascia) is a layer directly below the dermis and serves to connect the skin to the underlying fascia (fibrous tissue) of the bones and muscles.

What is the main function of the dermis?

The dermis is a fibrous structure composed of collagen, elastic tissue, and other extracellular components that includes vasculature, nerve endings, hair follicles, and glands. The role of the dermis is to support and protect the skin and deeper layers, assist in thermoregulation, and aid in sensation.

What layer is the dermis?

The inner layer of the two main layers of the skin. The dermis has connective tissue, blood vessels, oil and sweat glands, nerves, hair follicles, and other structures. It is made up of a thin upper layer called the papillary dermis, and a thick lower layer called the reticular dermis.

What are 3 structures found in the dermis layer?

The dermis contains nerve endings, sweat glands and oil glands (sebaceous glands), hair follicles, and blood vessels.

What is the next deepest layer below the skin?

the reticular layer: The deepest layer of the dermis. hypodermis: A subcutaneous layer of loose connective tissue containing fat cells, lying beneath the dermis. the dermis: The layer of skin underneath the epidermis.

How is the dermis divided into two layers?

The dermis is divided into two layers. 1- The papillary layer. This layer is found just below the epidermis. This is where you find blood capillaries, collagen, elastic fibres and reticular fibres. This layer supports the epidermis by nourishing it with nutrients, oxygen and in removing its metabolic wastes.

Which is the superficial layer of skin under the epidermis?

hypodermis: A subcutaneous layer of loose connective tissue containing fat cells, lying beneath the dermis. the dermis: The layer of skin underneath the epidermis. the papillary layer: The most superficial layer of the dermis.

What makes up the papillary layer of dermis?

Papillary layer is areolar connective tissue (gel like fluid) if the capillaries in here are damaged they will collect fluid and a blister forms. has ridges called papillae that form fingerprints. it makes up 1/5 of the dermis. deeper leathery layer. mostly dense irregular connective tissue and some adipose.

Where is the dermis located in the body?

The dermis is found directly below the epidermis. This is basically the layer between epidermis and hypodermis. You will know details about hypodermis in next session. Dermis is connected with layers above and below with the help of movable connective tissue.

What is the most superficial layer of the dermis?

The epidermis (see Figures 2.2 and 2.3) is the most superficial layer of the skin and is composed of strat-ified squamous epithelium. The epidermis is sepa-rated from the dermis—the deeper layer—by the basement membrane.

What are the 3 levels of skin?

Your skin has basic three layers: the epidermis, the dermis and the subcutaneous fat layer, or hypodermis [source: WebMD]. The epidermis is the outer layer of skin, comprised of translucent cells that produce keratin , a protein that protects you from potentially detrimental factors in the environment.

What are the seven layers of skin?

Its 7 layers consist of: epidermis (which is composed of 5 sublayers), dermis, and subcutis. Epidermis – This outer layer, no thicker than a sheet of paper, both shields you from the world and presents you to it. Dermis – This thick middle layer makes up most of your skin.

What layer of the skin is below the dermis?

The layer of skin beneath the dermis is sometimes called the subcutaneous fat, subcutis, or hypodermis layer . This layer provides insulation for your body, keeping you warm. It also provides a cushion that works like a shock absorber surrounding your vital organs.