What are the names of the four bases of DNA?

What are the names of the four bases of DNA?

The four DNA bases. are adenine, thymine, cytosine and guanine. These base names are abbreviated to A, T, C and G.

Which is the correct description of the structure of DNA?

Structure of DNA. It is also called as deoxyribose. The nitrogenous bases of the opposite strands form hydrogen bonds, forming a ladder-like structure. DNA molecule consists of 4 nitrogen bases namely adenine (A), thymine (T), cytosine (C) and Guanine (G) which completely forms the structure of a nucleotide.

What are the four types of nitrogen found in DNA?

The four types of nitrogen bases found in nucleotides are: adenine (A), thymine (T), guanine (G) and cytosine (C). The order, or sequence, of these bases determines what biological instructions are contained in a strand of DNA.

How many base pairs of mitochondrial DNA are there?

In humans, there are approximately 16,000 base pairs of mitochondrial DNA. Similarly, plastids have their own DNA, and they play an essential role in photosynthesis. DNA is known as Deoxyribonucleic Acid. It is an organic compound that has a unique molecular structure. It is found in all prokaryotic cells and eukaryotic cells .

What are the five basic features of DNA?

Salient Features of DNA Double-Helix It consists of two polynucleotide chains where the sugar and phosphate group form the backbone and the nitrogenous bases project inside the helix. The two polynucleotide chains have anti-parallel polarity i.e. The bases on the opposite strands are connected through hydrogen bonds forming base pairs (bp). The two strands coil in a right-handed fashion.

What are the five elements of DNA?

DNA, or Deoxyribonucleic acid to give it its full name, is comprised of five elements: hydrogen, oxygen, nitrogen, carbon and phosphorus.

What are the four subunits of DNA?

The subunits are the sugar-phosphates and nucleotides (adenine, guanine, cytosine and thymine for DNA, adenine, guanine, cytosine and uracil for RNA ).

What are the four bases contained in DNA?

The four bases found in DNA are adenine (A), cytosine (C), guanine (G) and thymine (T). These four bases are attached to the sugar-phosphate to form the complete nucleotide, as shown for adenosine monophosphate.