What are the 5 regions of the vertebral column how many bones are in each region?

What are the 5 regions of the vertebral column how many bones are in each region?

Answer: The adult vertebral column consists of 24 vertebrae, plus the sacrum and coccyx. The vertebrae are subdivided into cervical, thoracic, and lumbar regions. There are seven cervical vertebrae (C1–C7), 12 thoracic vertebrae (T1–T12), and five lumbar vertebrae (L1–L5).

What are the 5 regions of the vertebral column from superior to inferior?

From superior to inferior, these are:

  • Cervical – 7 vertebrae (C1 = highest; C7 = lowest)
  • Thoracic – 12 vertebrae (T1 = highest; T12 = lowest)
  • Lumbar – 5 vertebrae (L1 = highest; L5 = lowest)
  • Sacral – 5 fused vertebrae (S1 = highest; S5 = lowest)
  • Coccygeal – 3-4 fused vertebrae (Co1 = highest; Co3 = lowest)

    How do you remember the 5 regions of the vertebral column?

    You can use a meal-related mnemonic to remember them – imagine a crunchy breakfast at 7 am (7 cervical vertebrae), a tasty lunch at 12 noon (12 thoracic vertebrae), and a light dinner at 5 pm (5 lumbar vertebrae).

    Which bone is the strongest longest and heaviest *?

    The femur (thigh bone) is the longest and strongest bone in the body and extends from the hip to the knee. The femur is the only bone in the thigh and supports the entire body’s weight for all activities except for sitting.

    What is the most inferior division of the spine?

    For example, the most superior cervical vertebrae is termed C1 and the most inferior C7, which is then followed by the T1 vertebrae of the thoracic region. The two lower most regions of vertebrae are the sacrum and the coccyx.

    What is the name for the bones of the lower back?

    The bottom of the spine is called the sacrum. It is made up of several vertebral bodies usually fused together as one. The remaining small bones or ossicles below the sacrum are also fused together and called the tailbone or coccyx.

    What are the five regions of the spine?

    The five regions of the spine from the top of the spine to the bottom include the cervical, thoracic, lumbar, sacral and coccygeal regions. These regions contain 33 vertebrae that form the spinal column, according to Mayfield Clinic, and each region has a particular function in the movement of the body.

    How many vertebrae are in the cervical spine?

    Vertebrae in these regions are essentially alike, with minor variation. These regions are called the cervical spine, thoracic spine, lumbar spine, sacrum and coccyx. There are seven cervical vertebrae, twelve thoracic vertebrae and five lumbar vertebrae.

    Where are the five sacral vertebrae located in the spine?

    Under the lumbar vertebrae is the sacrum – a triangular shaped bone that connects to the hips on either side. There are five sacral vertebrae, S1 to S5, which are fused together. Together with the hip bones, they form a ring called the pelvic girdle.

    Where is the L5 vertebrae located in the body?

    The L5 vertebra is located in the spinal column of the lumbar (lower back) region inferior to the L4 vertebra and superior to the sacrum. Continue Scrolling To Read More Below… Continued From Above… Like the other lumbar vertebrae, L5 has a large, roughly cylindrical region of bone known as the body that makes up most of its mass.