Which leukocyte contains histamine in its granules quizlet?

Which leukocyte contains histamine in its granules quizlet?

red blood cells. Which leukocyte contains histamine in its granules? The granules in basophils contain histamine.

Which leukocytes release histamine?

Which leukocyte releases histamine in order to dilate blood vessels and increase blood flow to infected areas? Explanation: Basophils are the least common leukocyte found in the body, but play a key role in the inflammatory response. They contain histamine, which is a potent vasodilator.

Which leukocytes contain histamine granules to mediate the inflammatory response?

Basophils contain histamine granules and cause local inflammatory responses through their interaction with IgE. Their role in the immune system is poorly understood but they potentially mediate type I hypersensitivity reactions alongside mast cells. Examples include asthma and anaphylaxis.

Which types of leukocytes contain granules?

Neutrophils, eosinophils, and basophils are granular leukocytes. A granular leukocyte is a type of white blood cell. Also called granulocyte, PMN, and polymorphonuclear leukocyte.

Which property do all white blood cells have in common?

Which property do white blood cells (WBCs) have in common? WBCs transport oxygen. WBCs are nucleated and have a protective function. All WBCs have a phagocytic function.

Which WBC has maximum life span?

– Neutrophils are normally 10 – 12 micrometers in diameter, they make up 60% – 70% of all white blood cells. Function of neutrophils is that of a phagocyte. Life span- 12 hours. Thus, the option (B) is correct.

Why are basophils the rarest of white blood cells?

Basophils are chiefly responsible for allergic and antigen response by releasing the chemical histamine causing the dilation of blood vessels. Because they are the rarest of the white blood cells (less than 0.5% of the total count) and share physicochemical properties with other blood cells, they are difficult to study.

How are the different types of leukocytes classified?

Types of leukocytes can be classified in standard ways. Two pairs of broadest categories classify them either by structure ( granulocytes or agranulocytes) or by cell lineage (myeloid cells or lymphoid cells). These broadest categories can be further divided into the five main types: neutrophils, eosinophils, basophils, lymphocytes, and monocytes.

Why are neutrophils referred to as polymorphonuclear leukocytes?

They are commonly referred to as polymorphonuclear (PMN) leukocytes, although, in the technical sense, PMN refers to all granulocytes. They have a multi-lobed nucleus, which consists of three to five lobes connected by slender strands. This gives the neutrophils the appearance of having multiple nuclei, hence the name polymorphonuclear leukocyte.