What is the head and neck region called?

What is the head and neck region called?

The head rests on the top part of the vertebral column, with the skull joining at C1 (the first cervical vertebra known as the atlas). The skeletal section of the head and neck forms the top part of the axial skeleton and is made up of the skull, hyoid bone, auditory ossicles, and cervical spine.

What is the region between neck and shoulder called?

It is possible to feel the muscles of the superior trapezius become active by holding a weight in one hand in front of the body and, with the other hand, touching the area between the shoulder and the neck.

Is the neck inferior to the head?

These terms refer to the vertical axis. Superior means ‘higher’, inferior means ‘lower’. The head is superior to the neck; the umbilicus is inferior to the sternum. The nose is superior to the mouth.

What are the muscles from your shoulder to your neck called?

One of the major muscles in the neck is the trapezius. The trapezius muscles are the large muscles of the upper back. The trapezius muscles function to move, rotate, and stabilize the scapula (shoulder blade).

What is the main nerve in your neck?

The main sensory branches of the cervical plexus are the greater auricular nerve which innervates the external ear and skin over the parotid gland, the transverse cervical nerve which is responsible for sensation in the anterolateral neck and upper sternum, the lesser occipital nerve which innervates the …

Which gland is anterior to neck?

The anterior cervical lymph nodes are a group of nodes found on the anterior part of the neck, in front of the sternocleidomastoid muscle. These can be grouped into a deep and superficial group….

Anterior cervical lymph nodes
Latin Nodi lymphoidei cervicales anteriores
Anatomical terminology

What are the triangles of the neck?

The triangles of the neck are the topographic areas of the neck bounded by the neck muscles. The sternocleidomastoid muscle divides the neck into the two major neck triangles; the anterior triangle and the posterior triangle of the neck, each of them containing a few subdivisions.

Where is the neck region?

The neck is divided into several regions, triangles, and zones to organize the complex anatomy of this area. The two primary neck regions are the anterior cervical and posterior cervical triangles, which are found deep to the skin and subcutaneous tissue and contain several muscles, vasculature, and nerves.

What is the Latin name for the neck?

In anatomy, the neck is also called by its Latin names, cervix or collum, although when used alone, in context, the word cervix more often refers to the uterine cervix, the neck of the uterus.

Where are the muscles of the neck located?

The muscles of the neck are a hot topic within anatomy circles. They are usually described within the triangles; so there are the muscles of the anterior triangle, and the muscles of the posterior triangle.

Where are the sternocleidomastoids located in the neck?

Neck Sternocleidomastoid region Posterior cervical region Lateral cervical region Anterior cervical region 1 Sternocleidomastoid region 2 Posterior cervical region 3 Lateral cervical region 4 Anterior cervical region

Is the neck part of the spinal cord?

The neck is the start of the spinal column and spinal cord. The neck contains seven of these, known as the cervical vertebrae. They are the smallest and uppermost vertebrae in the body. The spinal column extends from the base of the skull to the pelvis.