What do the different classes of drugs mean?

What do the different classes of drugs mean?

The three categories of drugs are Class A, Class B and Class C: heroin, cocaine, ecstasy and LSD are Class A drugs. speed, cannabis, ketamine, mephedrone and some amphetamines are Class B drugs. anabolic steroids, GHB and some tranquilisers are Class C drugs.

What are the different types of drug classes?

7 Drug Categories

  • (1) Central Nervous System (CNS) Depressants. CNS depressants slow down the operations of the brain and the body.
  • (2) CNS Stimulants.
  • (3) Hallucinogens.
  • (4) Dissociative Anesthetics.
  • (5) Narcotic Analgesics.
  • (6) Inhalants.
  • (7) Cannabis.

    How are drugs classified according to their class?

    Whether a drug is a psychedelic, a stimulant or a depressant does not have much bearing on its class, as a wide range of drugs are classified in each of the three classes – Class A, Class B and Class C. Drug classifications are not set in stone.

    What are the 5 classes of Controlled Substances?

    The five classes of drugs are narcotics, depressants, stimulants, hallucinogens, and anabolic steroids. The schedule the drug is placed under depends on its medical use, its potential for abuse, and its safety or how easily people become dependent on it.

    What are the different types of drug schedules?

    Drug Schedules Drugs, substances, and certain chemicals used to make drugs are classified into five (5) distinct categories or schedules depending upon the drug’s acceptable medical use and the drug’s abuse or dependency potential.

    How many classes of narcotics are there in the US?

    Narcotics––also known as opioids ––are found in all five classes. If you have been abusing these drugs and need to seek help, call (800) 407-7195 ( Who Answers?) today. What Are Narcotics and Their Drug Classes?

    What are the five categories of drugs?

    Drugs are also grouped in five classes: narcotics, depressants, stimulants, anabolic steroids, and hallucinogens are all regulated under the CSA. The DEA also monitors the growth, sale, and use of Cannabis sativa, or marijuana.

    What are Class 2 narcotics?

    SCHEDULE 2 DRUGS (CLASS 2) DRUGS have a high potential for abuse and dependence, an accepted medical use, and the potential for severe addiction. These drugs include opiods based on high dose codeine , Fentanyl , and Oxycodone as well as Methamphetamine and the Barbiturates ; also included are such drugs as opium, morphine.

    What is a Class 4 narcotic?

    Possession of Narcotic Drugs- Possession of narcotic drugs is considered a class 4 Felony offense in Phoenix. There are many different drugs that may be classified as a narcotic drug in Arizona, including cocaine, crack, heroin and prescription drugs such as Percocet , Oxycodone , and Oxycontin and many others.

    How many drug classifications?

    There are currently five distinct drug schedule classifications, according to the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration. 2 These schedules are based on the drug’s acceptable medical use and the drug’s potential for dependency and abuse.