What are the two main blood groups in the body?

What are the two main blood groups in the body?

These markers (also called antigens) are proteins and sugars that our bodies use to identify the blood cells as belonging in us. The two main blood groups are ABO and Rh. The ABO blood system has four main types:

How is the blood type of a person determined?

Blood type. Blood type (or blood group) is determined, in part, by the ABO blood group antigens present on red blood cells. A blood type (also called a blood group) is a classification of blood, based on the presence and absence of antibodies and inherited antigenic substances on the surface of red blood cells (RBCs).

How many blood types are there in the United States?

ABO is the best-known system for grouping blood types, though there are other methods. There are four major categories within the ABO group: A, B, O, and AB. Within these groups, there are a further eight blood types. Every 2 seconds, a person in the United States needs blood.

How are blood types determined by antigens and antigens?

Your blood type is comprised of two blood groups: ABO and Rh. Blood types are based on antigens on the surface of your red blood cells. An antigen is a substance that triggers an immune response by your body against that substance. ABO blood types group your blood by the presence of specific antigens:

What are the best blood groups?

So O-Neg and AB are the best blood groups! Answer: There are four recognised groups – O, A, B and AB – which refer to the marker (antigens) carried on the surface of the blood group – A carries the A antigens etc. B the B antigens and other cells recognise A antigens as the enemy, so carry anti-A.

What are the types of blood groups?

There are four main blood groups (types of blood) – A, B, AB and O. Your blood group is determined by the genes you inherit from your parents.

What are all the names of all the blood types?

There are basically four main blood groups or types and they are A, B, AB, and O. They are further divided into what is known as the Rh system which expands the blood types to eight categories and they are A(+), A(-), B(+), B(-), O(+), O(-), AB(+), and AB(-).

What are the 8 different blood types?

People are probably most familiar with these types because they include the eight common blood types: A-positive, A-negative, B-positive, B-negative, AB-positive, AB-negative, O-positive, and O-negative. If you are interested in learning more about blood types, continue reading below for more information.