What are the general classification of drugs?

What are the general classification of drugs?

When considering only their chemical makeup, there are six main classifications of drugs: alcohol, opioids, benzodiazepines, cannabinoids, barbiturates, and hallucinogens. Out of all the thousands of drugs that are out there, both prescription and illegal, each one can be categorized under one of these six headings.

What are drugs in general?

Drugs are chemicals that change the way your body works. Drugs can change how you think, feel or act. Medicines are drugs that can help cure sickness, relieve pain or prevent illness. Alcohol, caffeine and nicotine are drugs.

How are drugs classified in the United States?

For lack of a better designation, this article uses the term pharmaceutical classification systemsto refer to a number of drug classification methods that classify drugs according to their chemical composition, mechanism of action, or therapeutic intent.

How are drugs classified based on their pharmacological effect?

Thus, drugs can be classified based on the pharmacological effect. Read more about Analgesics – The drug to relieve pain. Different drugs act differently i.e., each drug has its own way of generating a response called drug action.

How are drugs classified by formula and name?

Drugs can also be classified by chemical name, formula, or brand name. Other possibilities for classifying drugs. Uppers Downers and All Arounders. Inaba in his book Uppers, Downers and All Arounders simplified drugs, particularly drugs of abuse, into three primary categories.

What are the different types of medicinal drugs?

Medicinal drugs are broadly classified into two categories: prescription drugs and over-the-counter (or OTC ) drugs. A pharmacist can’t dispense a prescription drug without a written prescription from a qualified healthcare professional. The two main classifications for drugs are chemical compound drugs and biologics.

What are the five categories of drugs?

Drugs are also grouped in five classes: narcotics, depressants, stimulants, anabolic steroids, and hallucinogens are all regulated under the CSA. The DEA also monitors the growth, sale, and use of Cannabis sativa, or marijuana.

How does the federal government classify drugs?

Under the Controlled Substances Act, the federal government — which has largely relegated the regulation of drugs to the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) — puts each drug into a classification, known as a schedule, based on its medical value and potential for abuse.

Which drugs are classified as a narcotic?

List of Narcotics Vicodin (hydrocodone) Methadone Dilaudid (hydromorphone) Demerol (meperidine) OxyContin (oxycodone) Fentanyl

What are the different classifications of medication?

From the broadest perspective, the USP currently categorizes a drug or drug component under one of 49 different therapeutic classes: Analgesics, including opioids and non-opioids. Anesthetics. Antibacterials , including antibiotics. Anticonvulsants . Antidementia agents. Antidepressants.